Raise Hell, Praise Dale

Blog6h

Yet again Khadejeh convinced me to do something out of my comfort zone this weekend. Well actually she didn’t really need to convince me this time. She texted me Saturday morning and asked if I wanted to go to the annual Threshers Reunion in Denton, NC. I had no idea what that was but I was already bored at home from being on break from school (it’s been two days, I have seven left, but I’m not counting down or anything.) Little did I know I was about to step into redneck central.

Blog6d

Actually, it wasn’t really what I expected. I mean, I of course saw countless rebel flags, “Heritage not Hate” t-shirts, and only a few “Make America Great Again” hats…..okay maybe it was what I expected. Other than that it was a very interesting day and so much fun to photograph. About an hour into sweating our butts off a giant storm rolled through and cooled everything down a little and when it finally stopped raining they started the tractor parade. Blog6e

It was really cool to see all of the different tractors, but the best ones were the ones the kids were driving. It was so funny to see these giant machines roll by and then the next one I would see was a tiny, almost toy like tractor a kid was driving, like the one above. After the parade was over we walked around finding things to photograph when we came across the stables. These horses were definitely bigger than the ponies we saw last weekend, but so much nicer. Blog6f

 

 

 

1 thought on “Raise Hell, Praise Dale”

  1. Becca, I am always amazed at photos like this with such dramatic sky. I try but always seem to come up short when I try to get results like this. You might be a Red Neck if …you liked what you saw and had a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

